Drunk Driving Charges

The Wrong-Way DUI

One of the 347 new bills Arizona lawmakers signed into law as part of the 53rd Legislature increases the penalties for wrong-way driving under the influence (DUI). The law, House Bill 2243, amends Title 28 of the Arizona Revised Statutes and adds a new section about wrong-way driving. If the police arrest you for driving… read more

Why Is the Legal Drinking Age 21?

The minimum legal drinking age in the U.S. for all states, including Arizona, is 21. Those who drink under this age limit may face charges such as a minor in possession (MIP), or other civil and criminal penalties. Most people, though, are unaware of the reasoning or research associated with the establishment of this age… read more

What Is the Certified Ignition Interlock Program?

An ignition interlock device (IID) fits into a vehicle and prevents it from driving until the driver blows into a breath analysis machine to ensure the driver’s sobriety. The Certified Ignition Interlock Program handles the installation and monitoring of these devices after a driver’s license suspension or revocation. If you or a loved one has… read more

Who Has the Strictest DUI Laws in the Country? Arizona

As the number of DUIs increase across the nation, states are beginning to create stricter regulations for drinking and driving. However, some states have more intense laws than others. Recent studies have found that Arizona has the strictest DUI regulations and penalties in the country. Arizona DUI Penalties A WalletHub study compared all 50 states… read more

What is the Difference Between a DUI and a DWI? 

Many people seem to use DUI (driving under the influence) and DWI (driving while intoxicated) interchangeably when referencing a driver impaired by alcohol consumption. However, many states have different definitions and penalties for a DUI and a DWI. Under Arizona law, however, they have the same penalties, and the difference comes only from the technical… read more

Five Unavoidable Facts About DUIs in Arizona      

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal charge in Arizona, with penalties ranging from 10 to 180 days in jail and fines from $1,500 to $5,000. The more you know about Arizona’s DUI laws, the better equipped you will be should you ever face this charge. Always trust a DUI defense attorney for… read more