- Personal Injury
- Criminal Defense
- Success Stories
Marijuana laws are confusing and constantly changing throughout the U.S. Arizona is one of several states that recently changed its marijuana laws. It legalized the cultivation, purchase, possession and use of recreational marijuana in November 2020. Here is an updated explanation of all of Arizona’s current marijuana cultivation and distribution laws.
Arizona is harsh in its prosecution and sentencing of drug crimes. It is one of the strictest states in the US in terms of drug laws and related charges. The crime of drug possession specifically refers to having an illicit drug on your person or property, such as your vehicle or home.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal charge in Arizona, with penalties ranging from 10 to 180 days in jail and fines from $1,500 to $5,000. The more you know about Arizona’s DUI laws, the better equipped you will be should you ever face this charge.
Did you know you could get a driving under the influence (DUI) charge for operating a vehicle after using marijuana in Arizona? It doesn’t matter if you’re one of the thousands of people who now have a medical prescription for the drug.
In December 2016, the Arizona Court of Appeals ruled that the courts cannot convict medical marijuana users of driving under the influence (DUI) without proof of actual impairment. This was a major step forward for marijuana patients in the state, who had previously faced the burden of having to prove they were not impaired to defend against a DUI conviction.