In Arizona, a DUI Can Mean Jail Time for a First Offense

In Arizona, there is no “slap on the wrist” punishment for a DUI. A DUI conviction can often include jail time. That is true even if you have never been arrested before or previously gotten into any trouble. Spending time in jail – even one night – is a scary experience. A DUI conviction affects your future in many ways. That’s just one of many reasons you need an experienced Arizona DUI attorney if you are charged with a DUI.

First Offense

Under Arizona’s tough DUI statutes, it does not matter if this is the first arrest for a DUI and no damage was done. If you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) reading exceeding 0.08 percent and are arrested, you face up to 10 days in jail. Since Arizona is an implied consent state, refusing to submit to a breath, blood or urine test is an offense.

While judges often suspend most of the jail sentence for first offenders, there is many times at least 24 hours incarceration. While jail is the most frightening part for most people, there is also a fine of up to $1,250, along with certified ignition lock installation on your vehicle, community service and completion of an alcohol education/screening course.

First Offense Extreme DUI

Drivers with a BAC of 0.15 percent or over are charged with “extreme DUI,” and penalties are much harsher. In this case, persons convicted of extreme DUI face not less than 30 days in jail – with less chance of a suspended sentence or probation. Expect to spend at least a week in jail if convicted, and longer if the court does not have a home detention program. Along with a fine of up to $2,500, there are longer periods for the certified ignition lock, community service and alcohol programs.

We Fight for You

As knowledgeable DUI attorneys, we know how to fight for you and defend your rights. We will investigate the charges and see if errors were made by police or prosecutors. We may be able to prevent driver’s license suspension, and will negotiate all possible penalties. That negotiation includes a reasonable time period for the payment of any fines. Our goal is to get you the best possible outcome.

Contact an Arizona DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Arizona, you need the services of an experienced DUI lawyer. Call our offices at 623-847-7117 today for a free consultation. We’ll review your case and inform you of your options. With a DUI charge, it is crucial to arrange legal representation as soon as possible.

Source: https://www.azdot.gov/mvd/driver-services/driver-improvement/dui