DUI Penalties In Arizona

Depending on the severity of your charge and your criminal record, there are differing levels of DUI penalties in Arizona. It is wise to seek the counsel of an experienced attorney who can examine your record and your offense, and provide insight and guidance uniquely tailored to your situation.

Since 1993, The Law Offices of John Phebus has provided legal guidance and defense to clients in a wide range of situations. A DUI conviction can result in serious consequences depending on numerous factors. We can fully explain your situation and the legal process you are about to face. Do not hesitate to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Glendale DUI lawyer who can navigate you through your legal dilemma.

First Time DUI Offenses

Below are the mandatory minimum sentences for first offense DUI charges in the State of Arizona. Actual sentences may vary based on the facts of your case, your record, and by judge, jurisdiction, or Prosecutor.

DUI

  • 10 days in jail. A court may require only 1 day with drug/alcohol evaluation and completion of the recommended substance abuse treatment program.
  • Fines and costs exceeding $1,500
  • 90-day driver’s license suspension (30 days no driving, and restricted license possible for the remaining 60 days)
  • Ignition interlock for 12 months after license reinstatement or 6 months if eligible or eliminated if medical or employment was eligible.
  • Probation up to 5 years, possible community service
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School
  • Commercial driver’s license holders: 1-year disqualification of CDL for first DUI.

Extreme DUI

If you are found driving with a BAC of .15 to .19 you could be charged with an extreme DUI and face the following penalties:

  • 30 days in jail – court may require only 6 days (if Court has a home detention program) with alcohol evaluation and completion of mandatory treatment program)
  • Fines and costs exceeding $2,700
  • 90-day driver’s license suspension (30 days no driving, and restricted license possible for the remaining 60 days)
  • Ignition interlock on car for 12 months after license reinstatement or 6 months if eligible eliminated if medical or employment eligible
  • Continuous alcohol monitoring possible for 30 days or more
  • Probation up to 5 years, possible community service
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School
  • Commercial driver’s license holders: 1 year disqualification of CDL.

Super Extreme DUI

Driving with a BAC of .20 or more is categorized as a super extreme DUI and can be punished with the following:

  • 45 days in jail – a court may require only 9 days (if the Court has a home detention program) with mandatory alcohol evaluation and completion of recommended treatment program.
  • Fines and costs exceeding $3,200
  • 90-day driver’s license suspension (30 days no driving, and restricted license possible for the remaining 60 days)
  • Ignition interlock on a car for 18 months after license reinstatement or eliminated if medical or employment was eligible.
  • Continuous alcohol monitoring possible for 30 days or more.
  • Probation up to 5 years, possible community service.
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle.
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School.
  • Commercial driver’s license holders: Second offense is a lifetime-permanent loss of a commercial driver’s license.

Second Time DUI Offenses

A second DUI offense could carry more severe consequences, depending on the blood alcohol concentration and the driver’s record.

DUI

  • 90 days in jail. The court may require only 6 days (if it has a home detention program) with alcohol evaluation and completion of the recommended treatment program.
  • Fines and costs exceeding $3,400
  • License revoked for one year, with a possible 9 months restricted driver’s license with an ignition interlock device and SR-22.
  • Ignition interlock for 12 months after license reinstatement or 6 months if eligible or eliminated if medical or employment eligible.
  • Probation up to five years and a minimum of 30 hours of community service.
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School
  • Commercial driver’s license holders: Permanent loss of a commercial driver’s license.

Extreme DUI

  • 120 days in jail. The court may require only 24 days (if it has a home detention program) with alcohol evaluation and verified completion of the recommended treatment program.
  • Fines and costs exceeding $3,700
  • License revoked for one year with possible 9 months of a restricted driver’s license with an ignition interlock device installed and SR-22.
  • Ignition interlock device on the car for 12 months after license reinstatement or 6 months, if eligible or eliminated.
  • Continuous alcohol monitoring possible for 90 days or more.
  • Probation of up to 5 years, and a minimum of 30 hours of community service.
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle.
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School.

Super Extreme DUI

  • 180 days in jail. The court may require only 36 days (if a home detention program is available) with alcohol evaluation and completion of the recommended treatment program.
  • Fines and costs exceeding $4,400
  • License revoked for one year, possible 9 months of a restricted driver’s license with the installation of an ignition interlock device and SR-22.
  • Ignition interlock on car for 2 years after license reinstatement or eliminated if medical or employment was eligible.
  • Continuous alcohol monitoring possible for 90 days or more
  • Probation of up to 5 years, a minimum of 30 hours of community service.
  • Possible impoundment of your vehicle.
  • 8 points assessed against your driving record and required to attend Traffic Survival School.

DUI penalties such as jail time, fines, and license suspension vary depending on whether it is your first or second drunk driving offense. It is crucial that you work with a skilled attorney who can fully defend you through all phases of the legal process. A criminal defense lawyer in Glendale can represent you in court and may be able to lessen the charges.

Contact Our Firm

If you have questions regarding DUI penalties, schedule a free consultation at The Law Offices of John Phebus. Our firm can be reached by calling 623-847-7117 or by completing our online contact form. Our office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Evening and weekend appointments are available based on the needs of our clients. We serve clients in Glendale, Peoria, Phoenix, Scottsdale, and throughout Maricopa County.