If you are convicted of the crime of driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona, you could be facing anywhere from about $7,000 to $11,000 in potential fines, fees, surcharges and other costs. DUIs are known for being one of the most expensive types of misdemeanors. Below is a breakdown of the potential related costs for a first-time DUI offense in Arizona.
Fine and Surcharges
A DUI conviction will lead to a sentence that may include jail time, community service and a fine. In Arizona, the fine for a DUI conviction is around $1,500 for a first-time regular offense. By law, the fine will not be less than $1,250. The fine for a second or subsequent offense is at least $3,000.
In addition to the base fine for a DUI conviction, you will also be responsible for paying related fees and surcharges. This can include a $500 general surcharge, a $500 prison fund assessment and a $500 public safety fund assessment.
Vehicle Impoundment and Towing
At the time of your DUI arrest, your vehicle may be towed to a lot and impounded. You will have to pay the price for these services, which can equal around $500. You will have to pay per day that your vehicle is impounded, with a mandatory minimum impoundment timeframe upon conviction.
As part of the legal process in Arizona, defendants are often required to pay the court costs that were involved in their DUIs. If you hire a Surprise DUI defense attorney, you will incur additional costs. However, the money you spend on a private defense lawyer will be worth it for the benefits you receive, such as the power to reduce the charges or penalties you face.
Drug or Alcohol Counseling
A common sentence for a DUI conviction is mandatory drug or alcohol counseling for the driver. Treatment programs and drug and alcohol screenings may also be required. These courses and treatments must be taken at the defendant’s own expense, which can exceed $500.
Ignition Interlock Device
First-time DUI offenders in Arizona are required to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles. The associated costs include the price to rent the device, the fee for professional installation and a monthly maintenance cost for the duration of the sentence. For an idea of how much an ignition interlock device will cost, one year is typically around $1,000.
License Reinstatement Fees
A driver who is convicted of a DUI in Arizona will be subject to administrative penalties in addition to a criminal sentence. These penalties can include the suspension or revocation of the driver’s license. If the driver wishes to reinstate his or her license after the suspension period ends, there are fees associated with this service.
Increased Insurance Premiums
One of the greatest DUI costs is the price hike on a driver’s car insurance premiums. To meet the coverage that is required by Arizona law as a convicted DUI offender, you may have to pay for high-risk SR-22 insurance. This can increase your insurance premiums by $1,000 to $3,000 annually.
To find out how you can minimize the costs of a DUI charge in Arizona, consult with a criminal defense lawyer at the Law Offices of John Phebus. We offer free DUI case evaluations.