The Legal Representation
You Need.

Driving With a Suspended License in Arizona

In addition to criminal penalties, a DUI arrest involves administrative action concerning your driving privileges. We are experienced Phoenix driver’s license suspension attorneys who can protect your rights and help you get your license back.

Contact The Law Offices of John Phebus to arrange a free telephone consultation to discuss your DUI case and your Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) hearing. From our offices in Glendale, Arizona, we represent clients throughout the greater Maricopa County metro area.

Suspended License: Restricted Driving And Reinstatement

The minimum license suspension for driving under the influence (first offense) is 90 days. Within 15 days of the date of your arrest, you may request an MVD hearing to challenge your license suspension. Failure to request this hearing within the 15 days will result an automatic 90-day suspension beginning on the 15th day after your arrest. After a mandatory suspension of 30 days, this permit allows you to drive to work or other necessary destinations approved by the court.

For second extreme DUI or repeat DUI offenses, your license will be revoked for one year. Felony DUI or third DUI (aggravated DUI) results in a one-year revocation.

Reinstatement of your revoked license is not automatic. You must demonstrate that you have satisfied conditions of your DUI sentencing, such as drug or alcohol treatment, traffic survival classes, fines paid, and incarceration completed.

Driving On A Suspended Or Revoked License

If you are charged with operating any vehicle while your license is under suspension or revocation, this is a serious traffic violation carrying more criminal penalties. It may result in a longer suspension, revocation or permanent cancellation of your license or you may be eligible for a restricted license.

DUI On A Suspended Or Revoked License

A conviction for DUI while under license suspension or revocation is a class 4 felony carrying a minimum prison sentence of four months and revocation of one year, as well as other major penalties.

Points Against Your License

DUI offenses count as 8 points against your license. If you accumulate 8-12 points against your license in a one-year period, it is mandatory to attend traffic survival school. If you accumulate 13 or more points against your license in one year from additional traffic violations, you may face another 90-day suspension of your license beyond the DUI conviction. Beyond 18 points in one year, the suspension increases.

Contact Us For Representation In The Glendale Area

Contact an experienced driver’s license suspension lawyer in Glendale to schedule a free telephonic consultation about DUI prosecution and your driving privileges. Call today at (623) 847-7117.