The possession of alcohol by persons under the age of 18 can lead to a misdemeanor charge, the loss of driving privileges for up to 180 days, and a permanent criminal record. Given that such a charge can have a permanent impact on your life due to the creation of a criminal record, your defense against the charge should not be taken lightly. While there are minor exceptions related to the minor in possession statute including the use of limited amounts of alcohol for religious purposes, Arizona law, in general, considers minor in possession to be a very serious charge.
Connecting with an attorney provides you with the support you need to effectively challenge and defend against your Scottsdale minor in possession charge. One of the experienced Scottsdale juvenile criminal defense attorneys from The Law Offices of John Phebus is standing by to review your minor in possession case.
Charges and Fines Can be Substantial for Minors in Possession in Arizona
Through Arizona law Rev. Stat. Sec. 4-244, underage drinking in Arizona is illegal. A minor in possession in the state of Arizona is considered to be a class 1 misdemeanor. This can be a serious charge that can result in the loss of your freedom.
Minor in possession is a class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona, which includes:
a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail
up to 3 years of probation
up to $4,575 in fines and surcharges
For first offenders, the penalties are generally less severe and usually include probation alongside fines, alcohol treatment, and community service. Even if jail is not the most likely outcome, a minor in possession charge can lead to a permanent criminal conviction. Permanent criminal convictions are not to be taken lightly and can impact your capacity to line up employment and other benefits like loans for higher education in the future. Arizona does not have expungement, so charges must be taken seriously.
Driving Privileges Can be Suspended for Long Periods of Time
When a minor is found to be in possession in Arizona, the potential of losing your license for a considerable amount of time is possible. For the first offense alone, the court may order the suspension of a driver under the age of 18 found to be in possession for up to 180 days. This can impact your ability to work, to get to school, and to move on with your life in a positive and productive manner.
Discuss Your Case with a Scottsdale Juvenile Criminal Defense Lawyer
The risk of facing the full penalties associated with a minor in possession charge highlights the importance of working with an experienced Scottsdale minor in possession attorney. Your Scottsdale criminal defense attorney ensures that the facts and circumstances of your charge are carefully scrutinized and that you are not held accountable for charges the state cannot prove each and every element of beyond a reasonable doubt.
Reach out to schedule a consultation or call (623) 847-7117 to discuss options on how we can put forward the best possible defense in your domestic violence charge.