If you or your child is under 21 years of age and charged with an alcohol-related offense, contact our underage drinking attorneys at The Law Offices of John Phebus for a free telephone consultation. We are experienced in protecting the rights of minors in alcohol offenses. Our Glendale criminal defense firm works to ensure that any punishment has the least possible impact on their lives and criminal record.
Handling Alcohol Violations for Persons Under Age 21.
Free Telephone Consultation: 623-847-7117.
The State of Arizona has an extremely harsh law regarding drinking and driving by underage drivers. While adults must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 to be charged with DUI, minors and young adults (up to age 21) can be charged with DUI for having a trace of alcohol in their system (.01 BAC), even if there are no physical signs of impairment.
However, the penalties for an underage DUI are the same (or worse) as for adults. On a first offense, a conviction may carry:
- Mandatory license suspension for 24 months (eligible for a restricted permit at court’s discretion )
- If allowed a restricted permit, MVD requires an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle and an SR-22 for 3 years
- A class 1 misdemeanor criminal record for life
- Fines and surcharges
- Possible probation, education classes, community service and other penalties at the discretion of the court
Underage Consumption Or Minor In Consumption
You must be age 21 to legally drink in Arizona, and state agencies and organizations are trying to clamp down on underage drinking. Underage consumption of alcohol is a misdemeanor and carries severe penalties:
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 2 years if under 18 years of age
- Fines up to $2,500 plus surcharges and possible court costs
- A misdemeanor criminal record for life
- Possible community service and alcohol education classes
False ID To Obtain Alcohol
Using a fake driver’s license or other identification to obtain alcohol is a class 1 misdemeanor. Penalties may include:
- Alcohol and/or substance abuse treatment program
- Fines up to $2,500 plus surcharges and court costs
- Six-month driver’s license suspension — not eligible for a restricted permit to drive to work or school
Simply possessing alcoholic beverages or having the misfortune of sitting closest to the empty beer can (open container) in a car can result in misdemeanor charges and a heavy fine for anyone under 21.
Other Consequences Of Underage Drinking
In addition to criminal prosecution, underage drinkers may face other consequences for underage drinking. Our lawyers represent high school and college students (including many at Arizona State University) facing suspension or expulsion from school, as well as suspension from athletic teams or other sanctions, relating to zero-tolerance alcohol policy violations.
In every alcohol-related offense, we thoroughly examine the facts of the case and advise clients on the merits of contesting the charges or negotiating a plea bargain to a lesser offense with fewer consequences. Our goal is always to minimize the impact of the charges on the young person’s life.
Contact Our Glendale And Peoria Underage Drinking Attorneys
Contact an underage drinking lawyer who will discreetly handle your case. Call 623-847-7117 now or contact us online. We offer a free, 30-minute phone consultation. I accept credit cards or payment plans. We serve clients throughout Maricopa County and have office locations in Glendale, Tempe, Scottsdale, and Phoenix.