There are many ways to get around Arizona. A moped is one of them. The laws surrounding mopeds can be confusing, as this vehicle falls somewhere between a bicycle and a motorcycle. It is in a class of its own, with special laws dedicated just to mopeds in Arizona. Before you operate this type of vehicle, learn all of the laws that will apply to you.
What Is Arizona’s Definition of a Moped?
Although they are similar, each state technically has its own definition of what constitutes a moped. Arizona’s is found in the Revised Statutes, Section 28-101(46): a bicycle (not an electric bicycle), electric miniature scooter or electric stand-up scooter that is equipped with a helper motor and has the following maximum capabilities:
- Piston displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less
- Brake horsepower of 1.5 or less
- Speed of 25 miles per hour on a flat surface with a less than 1 percent grade
A bicycle, on the other hand, is a device that is propelled by human power, while a motorcycle is a motor-driven vehicle that has a seat or saddle for the rider. The main difference between a moped and a motorcycle is that a moped is classified as a bicycle while a motorcycle is classified as a motor vehicle. This means mopeds have drastically different laws, rules and restrictions compared to motorcycles.
Do I Need a License to Operate a Moped in Arizona?
Yes. A valid standard motor vehicle operator’s license is required for anyone who wishes to operate a moped in Arizona. Unlike a motorcycle license, however, a moped operator does not need a special class M license. Under Arizona Revised Statute 28-2513, any class of driver’s license is valid for operating a moped. Title requirements are also waived for mopeds by state statute, although a moped must be registered.
Can Mopeds Ride on the Road?
Yes; in fact, mopeds must ride on the road or bicycle paths, as they are not allowed to ride on most sidewalks in Arizona. Moped riders have all the same rights to be on public roads as other road users. However, the legal maximum speed of a moped is only 25 miles per hour. This means a moped cannot be driven on any road with a speed limit that exceeds 35 miles per hour, including freeways. When riding a moped on a public road, the operator must obey all standard roadway rules and traffic laws, including rights-of-way, speed limits, and traffic signs and signals.
Do I Have to Wear a Helmet on a Moped in Arizona?
Under Arizona law, helmets are only required for moped riders who are under the age of 18. Anyone who is 18 and older does not legally have to wear a helmet on a moped. Even if you are not required to wear one, however, doing so can drastically decrease your odds of suffering a serious head or brain injury in an accident, as well as your risk of death.
Do I Need Insurance to Operate a Moped?
A moped must be registered in the State of Arizona. Before an owner can register a moped, he or she must show proof of insurance. The insurance requirements are the same for mopeds as they are for standard motor vehicles in the state. Arizona is currently a 15/30/10 state, meaning at least $15,000 in bodily injury insurance per person, $30,000 in bodily injury insurance per accident and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance is required by all vehicle operators.
What Should I Do if I’m in a Moped Accident?
Mopeds are small and can be difficult for other drivers to see. Unfortunately, driver negligence and recklessness increase the risk of moped accidents. If you or a loved one gets injured in an accident while riding on a moped, contact the personal injury lawyers at The Law Offices of John Phebus for a free case consultation. We can help you understand your rights and legal options.