How to deal with license suspension in Arizona

The point of traffic rules is to keep road users safe, but every driver is capable of making a mistake. Many times traffic offenses such as a DUI result in state authorities suspending your driver’s license as punishment. So how do you deal with license suspension?

Authorities in Phoenix will give you notice if your license has been suspended. They may suspend your license if you are convicted of specific serious offenses or accumulate enough points on a driving record. The time over which you gather those points is a factor; state law makes the requisite number of points eight over 12 months.

There are also certain cases in which authorities can revoke your license entirely. This may happen if you have two or more drunk driving convictions.

It is important to remember that a license suspension is conditional. Meeting the conditions for reinstatement is the most certain way of getting your license back. You have to convince both the court and the motor vehicle division that you have met the conditions set by them. This is because courts usually impose their own sanctions in addition to those of state authorities.

Suspensions may not necessarily seem fair. If you do not agree with the license suspension, you can challenge the decision through an administrative hearing. You can email your appeal, deliver it personally to the motor vehicle division or mail it. It can take up to 30 days to get a hearing after that. Although it may be tempting to do so in the interim, driving with a suspended license is a bad idea: Additional charges can be filed and authorities can impound your car for up to 30 days if you do so.

Being able to legally drive can be crucial for people across Arizona, and the stakes are high in regards to protecting these privileges. Working with an attorney to do this can provide people with effective legal resources, support and guidance.