Glendale Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers

A charge of reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor and carries harsh penalties in Arizona. If you were arrested for reckless driving or aggressive driving, contact an experienced traffic offense attorney to protect your rights and begin your defense.

Defense Against Reckless And Aggressive Driving Charges
Free Telephone Consultation: 623-377-7459

Our practice, The Law Offices of John Phebus, handles all traffic tickets and violations for clients in the Glendale area and greater Maricopa County. As experienced Phoenix-area reckless driving defense attorneys, we have represented numerous clients and we are familiar with proper procedure for prosecutors in local jurisdictions.

Reckless Driving Defense

Arizona defined reckless driving as operating a vehicle in a manner with "reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property." Police may file the charge for a variety of acts, including:

  • Excessive speeding (such as 30 mph over the limit)
  • Driving too fast for conditions
  • Operating in a dangerous manner
  • Tailgating
  • Zooming through a parking lot
  • Swerving or crossing the center line
  • Driving with too many passengers
  • Cutting in and out of traffic
  • Damaging property with your car

In some cases, reckless driving may be charged in addition to driving after drinking. Penalties for a first-offense reckless driving conviction may include:

  • Up to four months in jail (usually suspended)
  • Traffic Survival School (TSS)
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor and criminal record for life
  • Possible probation for up to two years
  • Fines plus surcharges

A second offense within 24 months will result in a minimum of 20 days in jail and within 84 months will result in revocation of your license.

In addition to criminal penalties, your insurance company may raise your rates substantially.

Aggressive Driving Defense

You can be charged with aggressive driving for excessive speed combined with any of the following:

  • Running a red light
  • Passing another car on the shoulder
  • Unsafe lane change
  • Following too closely (tailgating)
  • Failure to yield the right of way

Penalties for aggressive driving (first offense) are 8 points on your driver's license, mandatory Traffic Survival School, as well as any fines plus surcharges and court costs. A second offense within 84 months results in license revocation for one year.

*WE DO NOT HANDLE PHOTO RADAR OR CIVIL SPEEDING TICKET CASES*

Contact Our Aggressive Driving Defense Attorneys In Peoria

Both reckless driving and aggressive driving charges are major traffic violations and assess 8 points against your license. If you have been arrested for either of these offenses, contact us, Phoenix-area reckless driving defense lawyers who are experienced in aggressive defense of such charges. We have several offices in the Glendale, Arizona, area. We offer a free, 30-minute telephone consultation to discuss contesting the charges or pleading to a lesser offense. Call now 623-377-7459.